Cancer 2.0: The Sequel

Checking in with the Family Doctor

Posted on: December 6, 2010

My visit with the family doctor today was like stopping in to see an old friend.  Dr. Younes has been my family doctor for the past 1.5 years, while my regular doctor took time to study Medical Anthropology in Amsterdam.   I updated her on the swollen lymph nodes, biopsies, and surgery.   She listened attentively and compassionately for areas where she could help me through all this.

She said that in medicine, we have to prioritize – that right now we are handling the “big” problem, then later will focus back on the smaller things.  At the same time, she is watching for normal things … like is there some other reason for me feeling tired – side effects of the back medicine, a lazy thyroid or vitamin imbalances.

She reminded me how doctors at both clinics and hospitals consult with each other on the more unusual or interesting cases, discussing either at regular meetings or just peer-to-peer to gather more information to optimize the treatment of the patients.

She also informed me that my old family doctor has now returned from his studies.  Now I have two doctors I really like – a rare thing.   She set up my next appointment returning me back to the care Dr. Aggarwal, saying I can always come see her again if I want.   I’ve grown to enjoy my visits with her and will miss her as my main doctor, while at the same time, I am happy that the doctor I’ve had since my coming to Canada is back again.   She made it clear she had updated him on all that had happened with me medically.

As I left, she gave me a big hug and said that I am the type of patient that inspires her… the way that I am handling the cancer diagnosis and treatment.  She said that most patients are not like me – I don’t know exactly what that means – but it was clear it was a complement.  It made me feel good.

When I got home, there was a message from the hospital canceling my oncology appointment for tomorrow – they said they would call with more information tomorrow. Odd.

It made me think how as a kid, I sort of believed the teachers all were at the elementary school, 24/7, like the books and our miniature desks.  There is a point, we are used to the process – the doctors are always there for the appointments.  This reminds me that they are also human – with chances of illness or personal emergencies.  I hope his reason for canceling is nothing serious.

Outside my window I can see the snow dancing in the streetlights, as Montreal is being covered in snow – the most we’ve seen this year.   I find it curious that there were two counts calling my attention to my doctors are people I care about today.  The fact it happened twice seems somehow significant… or maybe, just something to remember.

 

Leave a comment

Not a second time

One in 9 women will have breast cancer, and everyone will be in a position to support a mother, sister or friend as they go through treatment.

A few, like me, get the diagnosis more than once.

I wish now, I had more records of how I got through it the first time – I remember mainly the support and love of my friends and how much it helped, conveniently forgetting the immediacy of day to day emotions and events. So this time, I’m making my notes public, in hopes that this can help prepare others for the difficult months of treatment that precede the rest of our lives.

In 2001, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I followed standard treatments and as many alternative aids as seemed appropriate. Since then, I’ve been doing all the requested follow-up treatments and spending the time attempting to live as healthy a lifestyle as possible, expecting to remain cancer free.

Dec 2009, I discovered a lump while showering. The biopsy came back mid-January 2010 showing a tumor composed of invasive cancerous tissues. It was most likely something new, rather than a recurrence. So far, the prognosis is good.

This is my story, as it unfolds.

Table of Contents

To find articles on specific topics, see the Table of Contents.

This provides a full listing of dates with summaries of articles to find specific topics that interest you.

Posts this month

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers