Cancer 2.0: The Sequel

The Surgeon and The Homeopath

Posted on: April 16, 2011

Yesterday I rerouted my trip out to include a quick stop at the homeopath to pick up my new “core remedy” .  I am very curious about it and what it will do.  I met with Carla briefly as she finished typing up my instructions.  She gave me a brown bottle with an eye dropper, larger than the previous remedy bottles.

Each night, 30 minutes after last eating or tooth brushing.  I am to tap the bottle 10 times against a cushion.  This is a standard homeopathic practice that is believed to “potentiate” the medicinal qualities. Then I pour a small amount of bottled spring water into a glass, then add 10 drops and stir it.  From this dilution, I put one teaspoon under my tongue and hold it there for 1-2 minutes.

I was warned that like all medications, it is possible to get a strong reaction to a new homeopathic medicine – with very noticeable aggravation of symptoms.  I was surprised this is a possibility.   I am intrigued by my experiences so far.  No way to know if anything I’ve taken so far has helped.  I have noticed feeling sleepier on the days I switch between the X-ray remedy and the Calendula, but it could also be coincidence.  These last two weeks I was tired from radiation, as I had expected. How quickly I recover over the next few weeks will be interesting to observe.

I really would like the homeopathy to work and have a clear signal it is doing something.  We shall see.

I continued on to the surgeon.  Pleased I had remembered my eReader, I waited, I think a record time, to see Dr. Derossis.  She had a student with her, so I guess each patient takes longer.   I was well past nap time and almost fell asleep on the exam table before she came in, making me too groggy to actually take full advantage of the visit.  She reviewed results of various scans and checked everything out.

Technique for Breast Exam

She told the student how to do a proper breast exam. The student was obviously uncomfortable touching my breast, but poked a few fingers gently around until Dr. Derossis stopped her.  She said it is essential to always be methodical in a breast exam, or you will miss areas.   She showed how she puts all four fingers of one hand bunched together, starting at about 1 o’clock position, then methodically moves the fingers in to the center pressing down gently for each step.  Then she moves to the next “hour” and repeats the process. She pointed out I was one of the examples of why you need to check down in the ribs and up to the collar bone.   The student reminded me that I was getting a good lesson in self-exam at the same time.

Dr. Derossis sent the student out of the room to ask me privately about my visits to Dr. Neron, the psychologist.  She said this was always difficult for patients to talk about, but an equally essential part of healing.  I told her briefly why I had asked for the consultation, and that he had been very helpful to me. She reminded me of how important it is to take advantage of the psychological support as well as medical, as needed.

I wanted to talk about my fatigue, but it was not very interesting to the surgeon, since it is expected for now.  I was too tired to formulate my questions, although I already know my answers.  There is no way to tell how long the intense phase of the fatigue will last, nor really how to improve it. Even that article I cited last week explaining the fatigue, suggests exercise as the best cure.

The trip home on public transit felt long but effortless.  I stopped briefly to give Philippe a hug and kiss upon arrival, telling him briefly of my adventures as I walked toward my badly needed nap.

Last night, I got to tap my special homeopathic potion on a cushion then follow the directions.  It is harder than you’d think to hold a teaspoon of liquid under my tongue for two minutes.

I left trying to assess whether it was making any difference. Carla said I would take a few days for it to feel different, although aggravated reactions could appear within 3 days.   I slept well and woke up with a very unwanted ditty running in my mind.  So far, I feel good, but normal.  For now, even that is a good thing.

Today, I have too much to do to get ready to fly to Florida tomorrow.  It is minor, but I am feeling effects of being out yesterday so it may be harder.  Not that much to be done, but it feel daunting.  I’m glad I have a late flight, so there is more time tomorrow morning to finish.

1 Response to "The Surgeon and The Homeopath"

very interesting on this homeopath. i hope you have a safe and relaxing trip tomorrow. will you be blogging from FL? do you think you miised anything since you didn’t ask the surgeons the questions you had? what if those were thing you needed to know??

Leave a comment

Not a second time

One in 9 women will have breast cancer, and everyone will be in a position to support a mother, sister or friend as they go through treatment.

A few, like me, get the diagnosis more than once.

I wish now, I had more records of how I got through it the first time – I remember mainly the support and love of my friends and how much it helped, conveniently forgetting the immediacy of day to day emotions and events. So this time, I’m making my notes public, in hopes that this can help prepare others for the difficult months of treatment that precede the rest of our lives.

In 2001, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I followed standard treatments and as many alternative aids as seemed appropriate. Since then, I’ve been doing all the requested follow-up treatments and spending the time attempting to live as healthy a lifestyle as possible, expecting to remain cancer free.

Dec 2009, I discovered a lump while showering. The biopsy came back mid-January 2010 showing a tumor composed of invasive cancerous tissues. It was most likely something new, rather than a recurrence. So far, the prognosis is good.

This is my story, as it unfolds.

Table of Contents

To find articles on specific topics, see the Table of Contents.

This provides a full listing of dates with summaries of articles to find specific topics that interest you.

Posts this month

April 2011
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers