Cancer 2.0: The Sequel

Some thoughts

Posted on: December 14, 2010

In a few days, I head south to Florida to join with other family members who will be together over Christmas. I’m enjoying having a non-medical goal for a change, yet my health is never far from my mind. Each morning, I notice how my attitude toward the Tamoxifen pill has changed. In general, the idea of taking a medicine for years with potential for difficult side effects would not thrill me. Now, knowing that the cancer cells the surgeon removed were degenerating, makes this pill suddenly feel like my best hope of survival.

The uncertainty never really leaves me, even when I do my best not to dwell on it. In part, the news of Elizabeth Edwards dying of breast cancer brings home the fact that sometimes, no matter how we lived our lives, this can be lethal. Everywhere it seems I’m seeing the news media attempting to create headlines… I’ve tried not to read about it, since this is mainly hype, making a highly visible woman into a hero, while there are millions of us struggling with the same issue each day. The human interest aspects can bring attention our reality to those unaffected by the disease and can stimulate some to get screening tests or act quickly if they find a lump. Yet for a wee now, everyone I check online news, I cannot avoid these attention grabbing headlines and pictures of a dynamic woman who didn’t make it. I hate to say it but the constant reminder of this possible future is bothering me.

Until finding this regional spread, I never seriously considered I might have to face the idea of metastasis. I still believe it won’t happen and that through a combination of modern medicine, daily meditations, and nutrition/lifestyle adjustments, the odds are in my favor that this will all go away soon enough.

The pending test results are not really bothering me. I’m expecting the CT and her2+ results to be ok, more worried that there are tiny things around that are not detected in the test. The previous CT did not identify the tiny growth in my lymph node.

On the other hand, I’m realizing that I need to make sure to do the things I want to do in my life, sooner rather than later – whether it is to replace my aging computer with a noisy buzzing fan with the latest more powerful model and a few minor indulgences of things for myself, simply because I would like to have them.

In reality, this is something we all should do. As a kid, I was taught the importance of delayed gratification… work hard and the benefits will come later. Each year, we need to also remember that later may never come or be what we thought it would be. Somewhere we need the balance of a bit of benefits each year within the longer term plan.

Another lesson growing up was to save nice stuff for special occasions. This one has some merit, but in general, some things only feel special when they are new – clothes go out of style or no longer fit – or we simply forget about these things we have stashed for a more important time in the future.

One silly version of this has been attempting to get my short, short hair to look decent enough so I might be comfortable without a wig. I’ve written of the transition of too dark to too light. I tried once more, using the colors I’ve used for years, with only the most minor changes in the platinum shade. I have to give up before it all falls out. I’ll have to return to the professionals for a while once it grows out more and be glad I bothered to buy nice wigs.

I saw a science article today about a study working to prevent the hair loss caused by chemotherapy. This uses a very cold hat to chill the hair and roots, reducing circulation in the scalp during the main hours when the drugs are administered until they are flushed from the system. The hair thing is one of the hardest side effects of treatments and last so long.

I’m looking forward to a few wees without any doctor visits. On average I’ve had two medical visits a week over the past two months. I have three weeks with nothing medical, other than taking the daily Tamoxifen.

I hope I can shake the underlying fears of what could happen, made too real by the constant news this week of one who didn’t survive. I hate that I have so little say in the outcome.

5 Responses to "Some thoughts"

I’m sure as time goes on, you will dwell on the “what ifs” less and less. While I totally understand what you are saying and would be doing the same thing, there is the fact that any of us could be gone tomorrow. (I hope that doesn’t sound callous). I really hate not knowing whether I’m going to be alive or dead the next day! It’s a struggle every day, even without a disease, to live your life and not think about that fact, especially as we get older. I sometimes think I am entirely too negative and I have to try not to focus on the things that can go wrong. So on the positive side, I’m very hopeful for you that was just a rogue cell, and you will carry on for many, many healthy years!

You are totally correct… what i wrote is true for everyone if they think about it. I truly think I will be fine, but it is good to remember to integrate some fun stuff into my life regularly.

Karen,

A wee touch in. Sorry i have been so absent this last while. This week was my first week without a hospital appointment and i can’t believe how much time becomes available when you aren’t planning the inbetweens! i am delighted to hear about your hair coming back..and also, can it be true that within a year we’ll get our hair back? O that this could be true. Mine right now is doing a strange curl up right in the front. i am trying to be patient but i think i’m going to go to the hair dressers and have it snipped off (how’s that for patience? Grateful for hair..so i’ll treasure this moment of getting a tiny hair cut!) Have a wonderful time away…i am so glad that you’ll get to step out of the rhythm of things here and celebrate for a bit. i am sending you lots of goodly enerrgy that when you come back it will be lesser concerns..not anything to worry about. Sending big big hugs on this snowy Montreal day. Can you believe the amount of snow we’ve had? So grateful for a new season. New year up ahead. Things will get better. Sending lots of hugs…

Julian is wonderful and I feel vicariously she is my friend too. You guys are so lucky to have all that snow. Very Christmasy and very romantic. It must be great to start getting hair back again. I have NEVER thought one complaint about my hair or been frustrated when it is not how I’d like or is too hot or blown by wind, etc. I know now I am lucky to even have any hair at all. I agree, it will be wonderful to get away from all thoughts of treatments and routine medical up there. I am so very happy for you that your two children are going too, and will be there so long. I know how much that must mean to you. Have FUN.

I could not turn on computer for 3 days because I was immoblized by not being able to find a work report to complete and not finishing my grades. i couldn’t look to see who had written about my dilinquincy. i am sorry to not have looked here. i felt same about Edwards. I can never feel SAME as you, but the idea forced its way in. Since you have never considered worse problems until regional thing, and didn’t need to, what good would it have done?–don’t forget the idea of another opinion somewhere else reknowned…… IN TREATMENT is this wonderful HOB program on therapy by Dr. Paul Westin, Gabriel Byrne. (the fact that I am in love with him and having transference also is beside the point. if only we could get counter transference….) Anyway Deborah Winger from the 70s is a patient whose sister has same. It is real scarey and upsetting to me, tho it is fiction. i think it is best for health to state one’s fears and thoughts and put them out there even when not cheery. Living with some thought to negative outcomes in any venues, not to dwell, but to be aware–helps us be vigilant, and careful and do the right things and be on lookout and proactive….. WHILE we have a chance. i looked at evista at something that could give me blood clots and other serious side effects and could make me gain 50 lbs in like a month, according to online blogs, of course only the upset people right…. and now I think it is GREAT that I have something that can help prevent breast cancer, a new finding for this. my gynocologist concurred with Sloan Kettering dr that there have been excellent results. tho she went to harvard, some time ago, i am not nuts about her, but she was aware of this.

Leave a comment

Not a second time

One in 9 women will have breast cancer, and everyone will be in a position to support a mother, sister or friend as they go through treatment.

A few, like me, get the diagnosis more than once.

I wish now, I had more records of how I got through it the first time – I remember mainly the support and love of my friends and how much it helped, conveniently forgetting the immediacy of day to day emotions and events. So this time, I’m making my notes public, in hopes that this can help prepare others for the difficult months of treatment that precede the rest of our lives.

In 2001, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I followed standard treatments and as many alternative aids as seemed appropriate. Since then, I’ve been doing all the requested follow-up treatments and spending the time attempting to live as healthy a lifestyle as possible, expecting to remain cancer free.

Dec 2009, I discovered a lump while showering. The biopsy came back mid-January 2010 showing a tumor composed of invasive cancerous tissues. It was most likely something new, rather than a recurrence. So far, the prognosis is good.

This is my story, as it unfolds.

Table of Contents

To find articles on specific topics, see the Table of Contents.

This provides a full listing of dates with summaries of articles to find specific topics that interest you.

Posts this month

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers