Cancer 2.0: The Sequel

Cytokines and Cancer Fatigue

Posted on: December 17, 2010

The doctors never seem to like talking about the fatigue that lingers and lingers after chemotherapy. This last time I tried to find answers, I came across much info I knew, like long-term fatigue is a problem for up to half of cancer patients.

Yesterday, I came across some articles looking at elevated levels of something called “Cytokines” in those experiencing fatigue.

From what I understand from reading, cytokines are similar to hormones… they are proteins secreted by cells in one part of the body, that trigger a response somewhere else. For example, when the body detects blood sugar is too high, the pancreas will put insulin into the blood which instructs other parts of the body to absorb more sugar and store it for later use. Hormones are secreted by endocrine glands. Cytokines work in a similar way, by don’t need a special organ to send the message.

Cytokines may be divided into six groups: interleukins, colony-stimulating factors, interferons, tumor necrosis factor, growth factors, and chemokines. I’m not going to go into all the details of these terms, but many have to do with stimulating the immune system. My speculation is that with the immune system activated for colds, we feel tired… which may be why I feel so tired. What I’m feeling is close to how I am tired when I am sick.

Of the list of groups, the tumor necrosis factor (TNF) sounds interesting. The TNF activates lymphocytes (a type of white blood cell ) to attack cancerous cells resulting in apoptosis. Apoptosis, as you may recall, is a self-destruct mechanism for damaged cells. rather than just dying, these damaged cells first cut all the DNA into tiny pieces to make sure it cannot be reused.

There are another set of cytokines that promote cell growth, which may not be a good thing. The articles I’ve read have not made the distinction of which types of cytokines are involved in the fatigue.

Somehow this makes me feel better, that maybe the fatigue is my body working overtime, in case there are a few more cancer cells lurking in the shadows.

Leave a comment

Not a second time

One in 9 women will have breast cancer, and everyone will be in a position to support a mother, sister or friend as they go through treatment.

A few, like me, get the diagnosis more than once.

I wish now, I had more records of how I got through it the first time – I remember mainly the support and love of my friends and how much it helped, conveniently forgetting the immediacy of day to day emotions and events. So this time, I’m making my notes public, in hopes that this can help prepare others for the difficult months of treatment that precede the rest of our lives.

In 2001, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I followed standard treatments and as many alternative aids as seemed appropriate. Since then, I’ve been doing all the requested follow-up treatments and spending the time attempting to live as healthy a lifestyle as possible, expecting to remain cancer free.

Dec 2009, I discovered a lump while showering. The biopsy came back mid-January 2010 showing a tumor composed of invasive cancerous tissues. It was most likely something new, rather than a recurrence. So far, the prognosis is good.

This is my story, as it unfolds.

Table of Contents

To find articles on specific topics, see the Table of Contents.

This provides a full listing of dates with summaries of articles to find specific topics that interest you.

Posts this month

December 2010
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers