Cancer 2.0: The Sequel

Archive for May 16th, 2011

I really benefited from  scheduling problems with my visit to my family doctor, Dr. Aggarwal.  It seems no one was informed of their appointments until the reminder call, so most were cancelled with such short notice.   Since he had not time constraints, I think I spent almost 1.5 hours with him going over details of my health in a relaxed way.

The good news is that all my blood work came back normal and there are no signs of anything long term damage from the cancer treatments.

The doctor gave me advice on how to prepare for my appointment with the orthopedic surgeon.  He suggested I get a note from my oncologist stating that I am healthy enough for hip surgery.  This will be easy, since I see the oncologist tomorrow, two days before I see the surgeon.  He also reminded me not to be stoic or brave about my pain.  He recommended I make it very clear how painful and debilitating my situation is right now.  Quality of life is a major factor in when these surgeries get scheduled.

Dr. Aggarwal appeared to feel somewhat guilty he had not caught the problem earlier.  Five years ago, the x-rays came back with slight problems, but nothing serious showed up.  Three years ago he ordered an MRI. We discussed if it should be of my back and hips or just my back.  I was insistent the hip problems were muscular. When I reminded him of that, his face showed his internal “I am the doctor and should know.”  From my perspective, the time when it might have been right to consider this sooner would have been during the time I was receiving cancer treatment, so all would have been postponed until now anyway.

In preparation for surgery, and also because it was time, he offered me a tetanus, diphtheria, whooping cough, and one other thing booster vaccine. He said that many lingering chest colds are actually low grade whooping cough.   He recommends this fall I get a flu vaccine and one for pneumonia.  The pneumonia vaccine only protects from some forms of the malady. It is given mainly to those with compromised immune systems and older people.  I hate being lumped into that group and look forward to getting a fully clean bill of health.

Dr. Aggarwal took the time to ask specific questions about how I am doing in all areas of my life.  We talked of side effects of Tamoxifen, reviewed medications.  He wrote a prescription for Tramadol – a stronger version of my current back medicine that does not contain the dread acetaminophen that could harm my liver if I keep taking it long term.  This drug has been intermittently available in Canada, so I have to talk to the pharmacist to see if he can get it for me. I like the idea of something stronger that does not hurt my liver as much.

We also talked of getting help from social services until I get the surgery. He advised me to go talk to the walk-in social worker at the local CLSC. The CLSC is the name for the network of  local doctors offices throughout Quebec.  They have all services for non-hospital related health care.  After my appointment, I attempted to see the social worker.  She explained to me that I had to talk to someone at the CLSC closer to my house.  I travel to another neighborhood, since I met my doctor when I talking language classes at McGill University and had access to the student health center.  There is more to the story, but it is boring so  I wont’ tell it.

When I got home, I looked up the details.  It seems that with doctor’s prescription, I can get help for something between $4/hour to $22/hour depending on some unknown criteria.  The obstacle for me will be to get to this closer CLSC, since it will require more walking than it takes to get across town to see my doctor.  I’ll start by phone to see what can be accomplished.  Nothing is ever easy.

In all, I’m happy that I’m starting to get more and more normal


Not a second time

One in 9 women will have breast cancer, and everyone will be in a position to support a mother, sister or friend as they go through treatment.

A few, like me, get the diagnosis more than once.

I wish now, I had more records of how I got through it the first time – I remember mainly the support and love of my friends and how much it helped, conveniently forgetting the immediacy of day to day emotions and events. So this time, I’m making my notes public, in hopes that this can help prepare others for the difficult months of treatment that precede the rest of our lives.

In 2001, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I followed standard treatments and as many alternative aids as seemed appropriate. Since then, I’ve been doing all the requested follow-up treatments and spending the time attempting to live as healthy a lifestyle as possible, expecting to remain cancer free.

Dec 2009, I discovered a lump while showering. The biopsy came back mid-January 2010 showing a tumor composed of invasive cancerous tissues. It was most likely something new, rather than a recurrence. So far, the prognosis is good.

This is my story, as it unfolds.

Table of Contents

To find articles on specific topics, see the Table of Contents.

This provides a full listing of dates with summaries of articles to find specific topics that interest you.

Posts this month

May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers