Cancer 2.0: The Sequel

Archive for May 24th, 2011

My hip pain has taken over my life lately.  I guess this is good news. Cancer is no longer the most pressing issue in my life!  This part is kind of awesome.

Over the past week, I’ve noticed the brain fog is missing more often than not.  What’s the difference? At worst, it was like an old antennae TV with bad reception – sometimes fine, other times, it takes a lot of effort to make out what’s happening with all the static.  As I was feeling better, the metaphor lands closer to getting cable.  I’m now experiencing the world, once again in high definition! Not every day, not all the time, but I can once again sense I have access to all my  mental faculties.

The slow clearing of treatment after effects is a topic no one ever seems to discuss. Using my prodigious search skills in attempts to get any sort of insight into the nuts and bolts of recovery.  Note that I’m actually quite proud of my ability to seek out useful information from any source. With modern techniques, I can test myself, in full geek-mode, by racing my friends or even my kids to “who can find” searches on the web.   I mention this not to show off, but to let it be known just how little information there is on the topic.

Ten months ago I finished chemotherapy.  Eight weeks have passed since my graduation from radiation.  My situation is unusual, and at the same time, I think it is nothing special since it matches with information I’ve been garnering from the cancer psychologist.

This morning I noted that my intelligence is returning at the same time my hair is taking on more and more of the mad scientist look.  As it has grown out, I can no longer deny that it is much curlier than it was.  It has always been unruly with with cowlicks etc, but now, as it is more than 2.5 inches long, the curls defy gravity – from ringlets at the bottom, to the top and sides looking like I had paid for a perm.  I’ll have to post a new photo.  This morning, my ego prevents me from showing you the full magnitude of today’s  bedhead look.  My hair is finally long enough I have to figure out what to do with it.  How cool is that?

Today I am to see my oncologist.  It will be a long wait, since he has to squeeze in all the patients from his sick day last week.  Last night, I was considering postponing the visit, since pain levels were so high from my hip and this is a routine check up.  This morning, I’m doing a little better, so if I take a cab, I may be able to make it.

The final note is that I have to put myself on a regular schedule of cancer self-exams. It is too easy to forget or postpone. This is my biggest responsibility now in cancer recovery.

PS. Yesterday’s entries at  Hip Fun blog are worth checking out.  I’ve researched more on the 10 point pain scale, and then assembled a table showing a very clear guide to understand all kinds pain relief, from hot baths and hypnosis to all types of pain medications.

The Pain Scale: http://hipfun.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/pain-scales/

A cool table comparing pain relief remedies : http://hipfun.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/relativepain/


Not a second time

One in 9 women will have breast cancer, and everyone will be in a position to support a mother, sister or friend as they go through treatment.

A few, like me, get the diagnosis more than once.

I wish now, I had more records of how I got through it the first time – I remember mainly the support and love of my friends and how much it helped, conveniently forgetting the immediacy of day to day emotions and events. So this time, I’m making my notes public, in hopes that this can help prepare others for the difficult months of treatment that precede the rest of our lives.

In 2001, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I followed standard treatments and as many alternative aids as seemed appropriate. Since then, I’ve been doing all the requested follow-up treatments and spending the time attempting to live as healthy a lifestyle as possible, expecting to remain cancer free.

Dec 2009, I discovered a lump while showering. The biopsy came back mid-January 2010 showing a tumor composed of invasive cancerous tissues. It was most likely something new, rather than a recurrence. So far, the prognosis is good.

This is my story, as it unfolds.

Table of Contents

To find articles on specific topics, see the Table of Contents.

This provides a full listing of dates with summaries of articles to find specific topics that interest you.

Posts this month

May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers