Cancer 2.0: The Sequel

Archive for May 28th, 2011

The ampersand, meaning "and", comes in many forms, depending on the font. I was surprised by how it looks in the font used for the title on this blog.

As a kid I often found myself lost in my dictionary, looking up words used to define words, always amazed at both the history and the real meanings of words.  With the exception of words we learned in vocabulary lessons, definitions and meaning are absorbed by context.  We learn the words without ever thinking about them.

Oh no, now I have to go check whether I’m using absorbed right. Is it absorbed or adsorbed?

Absorb  =To soak up, suck in, swallow.  To take in. The idea here is to take something into the interior.  Sample sentence “The sponge absorbed the spill.”

Adsorb = To attract and bind a fluid or gas on the surface of a solid. Accumulate (liquids or gases) on the surface, often only one molecule thick.   Think of the layer of water drops that magically appear on your beverage glass on a hot day.  Sample sentence “I cannot see any difference in the baking soda in my refrigerator after it adsorbed smell of the stinky cheese. ”

Oops, back to my topic about the ampersand.  This character was the 27th letter in the alphabet back in ancient Latin and continued in some English dictionaries as late as the 1880’s. The ampersand was even seen in Pompeiian graffiti.  Some medieval scribes used a symbol that looked like of like the numeral 7 in place of the word “and”.   Since the ampersand  was the last item in the alphabet, “&” had also taken on the slang meaning of “posterior, rear end, hindquarters.”

The word “ampersand” did not even exist before the early 1800’s. The “&” symbol was named “and.”     During all that time, when people recited the alphabet, they said the usual “A B C D … X Y Z per se and.”   Over time the meaning of the Latin was lost and people began saying “…X Y Z and per se and.”

What’s with the “per se”?  This goes back to Latin origins, where “per se” means “by itself” and seemed to continue when the alphabet was taught in English.   In the early 1800’s, dictionaries appeared calling the symbol “ampersand”  which matched what people actually said.

The symbol Chi-Ro, also called labarum, has been used to denote Christ. This was the symbol Emperor Constintine saw in his famous dream.

And what about all the objections to the “X” in Xmas as a short form of Christmas?  In Greek, “X” is pronounced “chi” and back then a symbol often used to for “Christ”.

 

Sources: The Hot Word  and  The American Heritage Dictionary


Not a second time

One in 9 women will have breast cancer, and everyone will be in a position to support a mother, sister or friend as they go through treatment.

A few, like me, get the diagnosis more than once.

I wish now, I had more records of how I got through it the first time – I remember mainly the support and love of my friends and how much it helped, conveniently forgetting the immediacy of day to day emotions and events. So this time, I’m making my notes public, in hopes that this can help prepare others for the difficult months of treatment that precede the rest of our lives.

In 2001, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I followed standard treatments and as many alternative aids as seemed appropriate. Since then, I’ve been doing all the requested follow-up treatments and spending the time attempting to live as healthy a lifestyle as possible, expecting to remain cancer free.

Dec 2009, I discovered a lump while showering. The biopsy came back mid-January 2010 showing a tumor composed of invasive cancerous tissues. It was most likely something new, rather than a recurrence. So far, the prognosis is good.

This is my story, as it unfolds.

Table of Contents

To find articles on specific topics, see the Table of Contents.

This provides a full listing of dates with summaries of articles to find specific topics that interest you.

Posts this month

May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers